Menu

St Monica's Catholic Primary School

A small school where big things happen

Remote Learning

In view of the ongoing pandemic and government directive that most pupils should move to remote/virtual learning,  we have updated our Remote Learning Policy below. The policy outlines the aims and expectation of remote learning and what parents/students can expect. This is in addition to the other useful links already available for parent support.

Information for Parents on Remote Learning

There are a bank of websites and online resources available for online/distance learning that your child can engage with.  

 

OUR IN-HOUSE E-RESOURCES

If you have any issues accessing these URL's or need account details retrieved/reset please contact us at office@st-monicas.hackney.sch.uk with IT request in the subject box, stating your child's name and year group.  

 

Google Classroom  https://classroom.google.com/

All pupils have Google Classroom login accounts. 

 

LGFL  https://www.lgfl.net/

All the students have LGFL login accounts along with teachers who will be able to assign tasks and activities for them to undertake. 

 

BusyThings

A popular wide subject ranging resource library for KS1 and KS2 usage.  

Teachers LOGIN https://www.lgfl.net/learning-resources/summary-page/busy-things

Student LOGIN https://www.busythings.co.uk/lgfl-login/

 

PurpleMash  https://www.purplemash.com/sch/stmonicasn1

An online cloud based portal where teachers can set 2Do's and other activities for children to undertake.  Each child has a PurpleMash login account so they can access their workloads, save it and return to it at a later date.  

 

ClassDojo  https://www.classdojo.com/en-gb/?redirect=true

Our main portal for communication between internal staff and parents.  Homework sheets can be posted here by teachers for children.  

 

There is also a list of FREE online education resources available for them to use.

  

BBC Learning  http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

This site is old and no longer updated and yet there's so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No TV licence required except for content on BBC iPlayer.

 

Twinkl  https://www.twinkl.co.uk 

An array of curriculum resources and exercises.  

 

Blockly  https://blockly.games 

Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.

 

Scratch  https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/ 

Creative computer programming

 

National Geographic Kids  https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/  

Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

 

Mystery Science  https://mysteryscience.com  

Free science lessons

 

The Kids Should See This  https://thekidshouldseethis.com  

Wide range of cool educational videos

 

Crest Awards  https://www.crestawards.org  

Science awards you can complete from home.

 

Paw Print Badges  https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk  

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.

 

Tinkercad  https://www.tinkercad.com  

All kinds of making.

 

Prodigy Maths  https://www.prodigygame.com  

Is in U.S. grades, but good for UK Primary age.

 

Cbeebies Radio  https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio  

Listening activities for the younger ones.

 

Nature Detectives  https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/  

A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!

 

British Council  https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find  

Resources for English language learning

 

Oxford Owl for Home  https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/  

Lots of free resources for Primary age

 

Geography Games  https://world-geography-games.com/world.html  

Geography gaming!

 

The Artful Parent  https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/  

Good, free art activities

 

Top